Monthly Clean Home Challenge

One of the blogs I love is I Heart Organizing.  Jen’s tips and ideas are wonderful.  Recently she posted about finding a good balance between maintaining an organized/clean home and family time.  Since one of my resolutions I’ve been struggling with the most is creating a balance, this post really hit home for me.

You can read the details of her Monthly Clean Home Challenge here.  But, basically she came up with four chores that if they are done every night will save a lot of time on the weekends.  I’ve summarized below and added two chores on the end that are essential for me having smoother mornings.

  1. Keep a clean kitchen: Total time: 10 minutes
  2. Laundry: Total time: 5-10 minutes
  3. Bathrooms: Total time: 1 minute/bathroom
  4. Pile Pickup: Total time: 5-10 minutes
  5. Lay Out Clothes For Morning: Including socks, hair accessories, shoes, mittens, hats, coats…  And check day care bag for extra clothes and diapers.  Total time: 10 minutes
  6. Make Breakfast/Lunches: Total time: 5-10 minutes

She has four more chores added in for weekly cleaning.  I actually have a cleaning checklist that I use when I clean, so I’ll be sticking with that instead.

Additionally, Jen has a list of additional cleaning chores she does once a month.  I’ve eliminated a lot of hers because they are either part of my weekly routine or something I don’t do (like make my own cleaning supplies).  This list will probably grow throughout the month, but for now I’ll be trying to add one of these in a day.

  1. Clean out cars
  2. Wipe down trim/doors
  3. Clean out one drawer
  4. Clean out fridge
  5. Clean out freezer
  6. Vacuum under furniture
  7. Clean out one closet
  8. Wash out garbage can/recycle bin
  9. Wash windows
  10. Scrub grout
  11. Clean out one cabinet
  12. File paper piles
  13. Purge bathroom toiletries
  14. Clean out pantry
Image from Honest.com

Image from Honest.com

And now that I have a new pretty cleaning tote and lots of cleaning supplies from Honest Co., I am ready to go.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monthly Clean Home Challenge

  1. Pingback: Thursday Thoughts | Practically unperfect in every way

  2. Pingback: Thursday Thoughts | Practically unperfect in every way

  3. Pingback: Clean Home Challenge: Update | Practically unperfect in every way

  4. Pingback: Thursday Thoughts | Practically unperfect in every way

  5. Pingback: Friday’s Letters | Practically unperfect in every way

  6. Pingback: Thursday Thoughts | Practically unperfect in every way

Leave a Reply

