May 2014 Birchbox Review

Birchbox ships 4-6 beauty and lifestyle items to your door each month for only $10 a month. Plus, Birchbox lets you review your items (a short multiple choice questionnaire) for 10 points per item. Each 10 points is equal to $1 in the Birchbox shop. So, this month I paid $10 for my box and received 6 items so I earned back $6 in products. I love the Birchbox shop because they sell a mixture of high end and lower end items. Plus, they have add-ons like the Mystery Sample Packs (check out my reviews here and here) and some great gifts with purchase.

My Birchbox was arrived Saturday but with Ava’s birthday party I never went to look for it until yesterday. Box contents used to be released in your account on the 10th, but they are now released when your box ships (mine was shipped on the 12th). I knew I was getting 6 items and was loved the look of everything.

First Look

First Look

The theme of the May Birchbox is being playful with your beauty routine.  I liked that all my products were very seasonal.  This month is also a collaboration with Kate Spade Saturday so the packaging was yellow and black.

Information Card - Front

Information Card – Front

Information Card - Back

Information Card – Back

The information card shows all the products in my box, the price, and how to use them.

The Products:

 

Jouer Luminizing Moisture Tint

Jouer Luminizing Moisture Tint

Jouer Luminizing Moisture Tint (in Glow) – $38.00 full size/$3.80 sample value

This is similar to a tinted moisturizer with SPF 20.  The color match is good on my skin and this will be great for weekends when I don’t really want to wear makeup but I’m not going to go to the store without any.  It covered well without feeling too heavy.

Number 4 Volumizing Shampoo – $34.00 full size/$4.00 sample value

I was very excited to receive this in my box.  I’ve received the Number 4 Super Comb Prep and Protect and Non Aerosol Spray before and loved them.  This is a sulfate free shampoo that’s supposed to protect and strengthen hair while adding volume.  I am saving this for travel.

Number 4 Volumizing Shampoo

Number 4 Volumizing Conditioner

Number 4 Volumizing Conditioner – $36.00 full size/$1.06 sample value

I was a little bummed with this.  I love when Birchbox sends matching Shampoo and Conditioner, but one is in a bottle and one is a foil packet.  I would have liked to receive a travel bottle on this one, but since I use less conditioner than shampoo, I’ll deal with it.

LAQA & Co. Sheer Lip Lube Pencil

LAQA & Co. Sheer Lip Lube Pencil

LAQA & Co. Sheer Lip Lube Pencil in Bees Knees (Coral) – $18.00 FULL SIZE!

This was another item I was very excited to receive.  I was hoping it would be full size and it was!  At first I was disappointed with the color, this is not a color I would ever choose in the store for me.  But, this is why I love Birchbox… I tried it and it’s great.  The color is not too dark so it’s great for summer.  I wish it were a little more moisturizing, but otherwise this is a great product.  And at $18.00 the lip pencil is almost twice the cost of the box!

32 Oral Care Effervescent Breath Crystals with IsoVoxy

32 Oral Care Effervescent Breath Crystals with IsoVoxy

32 Oral Care Effervescent Breath Crystals with IsoVoxy – $14.75 full size/$.98 sample value

I’ve been seeing these pop up in other people’s boxes so I knew I’d get them sooner or later.  These crystals are supposed to kill the bacteria that causes bad breath instead of just masking it.  They are similar to Pop Rocks.  I do like them, but it’s not something I would use all the time.

CoTZ Face Natural Skin Tone SPF 40

CoTZ Face Natural Skin Tone SPF 40

CoTZ Face Natural Skin Tone SPF 40 – $20.00 full size/$.94 sample value

This is another tinted moisturizer/sunscreen.  This does not come in different shades and is supposed to be best for medium skin tones.  I found that this blended well with my skin tone so anyone with olive skin may find it’s too light.

I absolutely loved my May Birchbox.  There were lots of products I’d never heard of and I got to try some products I know I will never buy without spending too much money.  The box was $10, I received $6 in Birchbox points for reviewing my products, so in the end the box cost me $4.  Even without the points, the sample value was $28.78- still much greater than the initial cost of the box.  To learn more about Birchbox or to sign up, click here.

~Elizabeth

This post contains referral links.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to May 2014 Birchbox Review

  1. Pingback: Thursday Thoughts | Practically unperfect in every way

  2. Pingback: June 2014 Birchbox Review | Practically unperfect in every way

  3. Pingback: June 2014 Birchbox Review – Update | Practically unperfect in every way

Leave a Reply

