June 2014 Birchbox Review

Birchbox ships 4-6 beauty and lifestyle items to your door each month for only $10 a month. Plus, Birchbox lets you review your items (a short multiple choice questionnaire) for 10 points per item. Each 10 points is equal to $1 in the Birchbox shop. So, this month I paid $10 for my box and received 6 items so I earned back $6 in products. I love the Birchbox shop because they sell a mixture of high end and lower end items. Plus, they have add-ons like the Mystery Sample Packs (check out my reviews here and here) and some great gifts with purchase.

My Birchbox arrived while we were away for a few days and I was so excited to receive box 38 with mascara and lip gloss….but the box that showed in my account wasn’t what I received.  I got box 29 instead.  I emailed Birchbox and I’ll let you know what they say.

First Look

First Look

The first look showed a full box and some great sized items.

Information Card

Information Card

The information card shows all the products in my box, the price, and how to use them.

The Products:

Number 4 Volumizing Shampoo – $34.00 full size/$4.00 sample value

I received this in my May box and while I loved it, I am a little disappointed to receive something that I just got.  But, I will definitely use it and at $34.00 a bottle, it’s not something I would ever buy on my own.

Number 4 Volumizing Shampoo

Number 4 Volumizing Conditioner

Number 4 Volumizing Conditioner – $36.00 full size/$1.06 sample value

I also received this in my May box (I even reused the pictures because they were better from the first time I received them).  Again, it’s something I love and wouldn’t pay full price for, but I would have loved to try a different conditioner.

Folle de Joie Perfum

Folle de Joie Perfum

Folle de Joie Eau de Parfum: $98.00 full size/ $7.78 sample value

I am estimating on the size of this based on other perfume samples I’ve received.  I didn’t love or hate this scent.  To me, it was okay and at $98.00 a bottle it’s not something I would buy.

Gilchrist & Soames Body Lotion

Gilchrist & Soames Body Lotion

Gilchrist & Soames Body Lotion: $16.00 full size/$3.00 sample value

I received a body wash from this brand in April that I really liked, so I was excited to try something else from this brand.  It’s not greasy and there isn’t much of a scent at all.  I liked that it was a good size sample – I’ll be able to use it quite a few times before it runs out.

Vasanti Brighten Up! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator

Vasanti Brighten Up! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator

Vasanti Brighten Up! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator: $34.00 full size, $5.67 sample value

I received this sample in my November box, and loved it.  It’s not too rough on your skin, but it’s a great exfoliator.  I wouldn’t use it daily, but it’s great for a once or twice a week treatment.  This was another duplicate for me, so that was disappointing but I will use this up.

Coola Tinted Matte SPF 30 for Face

Coola Tinted Matte SPF 30 for Face

Coola Tinted Matte SPF 30 for Face: $36.00 full size, $3.60 sample value

This was interesting.  It gives light coverage and feels like a liquid to powder makeup.  I like the match with my skin tone, but it’s probably a little too sheer for wearing every day.  It also made my face feel dry thoughout the day.  But, for people who only want light coverage, this would work well.

My June Birchbox was an interesting experience.  The box was $10, I received $6 in Birchbox points for reviewing my products, so in the end the box cost me $4.  Even without the points, the sample value was $30.78 – still much greater than the initial cost of the box.

But, I am disappointed I was sent the wrong box.  I love so many of the products in it, but having just received two of them last month made it less exciting for me.  If I hadn’t known what I was supposed to get, this would have been a much more exciting box for me.  Receiving the wrong product is rare for Birchbox, so I’ll update when I hear back from them.

To learn more about Birchbox or to sign up, click here.

~Elizabeth

This post contains referral links.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to June 2014 Birchbox Review

  1. Pingback: Friday Fave Five | Practically unperfect in every way

Leave a Reply

