June 2014 Birchbox Review

Birchbox ships 4-6 beauty and lifestyle items to your door each month for only $10 a month. Plus, Birchbox lets you review your items (a short multiple choice questionnaire) for 10 points per item. Each 10 points is equal to $1 in the Birchbox shop. So, this month I paid $10 for my box and received 6 items so I earned back $6 in products. I love the Birchbox shop because they sell a mixture of high end and lower end items. Plus, they have add-ons like the Mystery Sample Packs (check out my reviews here and here) and some great gifts with purchase.

I received the wrong Birchbox  in June.  I emailed Birchbox to let them know and you can read their response and see what I received hereBirchbox tailors the boxes to your beauty profile and the mistake box I received still fit that profile, but three out of six of the items were duplicates.  Yesterday, I received my replacement Birchbox.

First Look

First Look

The first look wasn’t as full as my other June box and I was a little nervous because things had shifted and the cap wasn’t on one of the items.  But, everything was in great shape and nothing had broken or leaked.

My information card picture came out blurry, but the box did include an information card.

The Products:

Paula's Choice RESIST Barrier Repair Moisurizer with Retinol

Paula’s Choice RESIST Barrier Repair Moisurizer with Retinol

Paula’s Choice RESIST Barrier Repair Moisturizer with Retinol: $27.00 full size/$8.06 sample value

This moisturizer is supposed to work on all skin types and reduce the appearance of aging.  I’ve only used it once, but it did leave my skin feeling very soft.  I like that it’s a good size sample (about 1/3 of the full size) so I can use it long enough to see if I love it enough to spend $27.00 on the full size version.

Dr. Hauschka Body Wash

Dr. Hauschka Body Wash

Dr. Hauschka Body Wash in Lemon Lemongrass Vitalizing: $22.95 full size/$1.16 sample value

This body wash is a cream and not a shower gel.  The scent was very subtle and it’s supposed to firm and rejuvenate skin.  At .34 ounces it’s a small sample for a body wash.

Evologie Stay Clear Cleanser

Evologie Stay Clear Cleanser

Evologie Stay Clear Cleanser: $32.00 full size/$4.48 sample value

This is supposed to reduce redness and clean and moisturize your skin.  I’ve only used it once but my skin definitely felt smoothe after using it.  I don’t like cleansers that leave my skin feeling tight and dry afterwards and I did not feel that way at all after using this.

Cynthia Rowley Beauty Creamy Lip Stain in Sugar

Cynthia Rowley Beauty Creamy Lip Stain in Sugar

Cynthia Rowley Beauty Creamy Lip Stain in Sugar: $20.00 full size, $9.29 sample value

This was one of the two items that I was initially supposed to receive and was disappointed I didn’t get.  Even though I knew this sample was coming, I opted to get another sample in my July Birchbox (did you know you get an option to customize one sample now?!?)  Because the customization was so popular there were some website glitches and I originally picked Sugar for my July box, but when I had to choose later only the brighter pink Valentine was available.  So, I was extra excited to get Sugar in this box so now I can try both shades and see which I like best.  This gloss is lighter on than in the tube (I’ll do some pictures with swatches when I receive the other one) and I found the color long lasting and not sticky (a pet peeve of mine with glosses).

Catherine Malandrino Style de Paris

Catherine Malandrino Style de Paris

Catherine Malandrino Style de Paris: $110.00 full size/$8.74 sample value

This perfume is described as a combination of citrus, amber and musk.  I didn’t dislike it but I didn’t love it either.  I like it enough that I’ll use up the sample, but I won’t be buying a full size bottle.

My June replacement Birchbox was an great.  I was so happy to receive one of the two samples I had really been looking forward to in the box I was supposed to receive.  The box was $10, I received $4 in Birchbox points for reviewing my products (two products wouldn’t let me complete the form for sampling them), so in the end the box cost me $6.  Even without the points, the sample value was $1.73 – still much greater than the initial cost of the box.

When I emailed Birchbox I never asked for a replacement box.  I wanted to let them know the mistake happened, I was disappointed because I had so many duplicates and that I’d really like to try the Benefit Mascara or Cynthia Rowley lip gloss that I was originally supposed to receive.  They were so generous sending another box – their customer service is great and is a reason I’ll buy from them online over other online only beauty companies.

To learn more about Birchbox or to sign up, click here.

~Elizabeth

This post contains referral links.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to June 2014 Birchbox Review

  1. Pingback: Thursday Thoughts | Practically unperfect in every way

  2. Anne says:

    I’d be happy if I could get the Birchbox SUBSCRIPTION to click on – tried three hours to subscribe and got nowhere – called a friend to have her test the website and she could not subscribe, either.

Leave a Reply

