August 2014 Birchbox Review Everygirl Box

Birchbox ships 4-6 beauty and lifestyle items to your door each month for only $10 a month. Plus, Birchbox lets you review your items (a short multiple choice questionnaire) for 10 points per item. Each 10 points is equal to $1 in the Birchbox shop. So, this month I paid $10 for my box and received 6 items so I earned back $6 in products. I love the Birchbox shop because they sell a mixture of high end and lower end items. Plus, they have add-ons like the Mystery Sample Packs (check out my reviews here and here) and some great gifts with purchase.

Birchbox has let you start choosing one of your samples.  I wasn’t going to choose a sample this month and let my whole box be a surprise, but when I saw the Everygirl box, I had to grab one.

IMG_3805

The Everygirl + Birchbox

The Everygirl Birchbox came with a cute overlay. I love when the boxes are changed up for the month.

IMG_3806

Information Card

Like every Birchbox, the Everygirl box came with an information card describing the products.  The Everygirl box promised to be full of products that are under $35 for the full size and the contents were released during sample choice.
The First Look:

IMG_3807

First Look

Even though I knew what I was getting, I was still really excited for the first look.   You never know what sizes the samples will be or what color variations you might get.  I loved the little pillow box for this month with Tee Hee written on it 🙂

The Products:

IMG_3808

Acure Organics Brightening Facial Scrub

Acure Organics Brightening Facial Scrub Sea Kelp + CGF: $14.99 full size/$3.75 sample value

This scrub and brand are new to me.  I love the size (1 oz) so I can use it a lot of times to see if I really like it and if it’s effective.  I didn’t read the full description of it so I was shocked that it’s black.  But, if I’d read the description before using I would have seen that it contains clay and sea kelp.  I find this to be very gritty without being rough on my skin.

IMG_3809

Not Soap, Radio Body Wash

Not Soap, Radio Body Wash: $16.00 full size/$1.76 sample value

Another brand and product that was totally new to me.  I don’t usually pay $16.00 for shower gel, but I love getting to try new brands through Birchbox.  And I love this enough I may buy it with points.  It is lemon scented but doesn’t have a lemon Pledge smell.  It’s more of a sweet scent.  It gets very sudsy which I love.

IMG_3810

Number 4 Super Comb Prep & Protect

Number 4 Super Comb Prep & Protect: $32.00 full size/$4.80 sample value

This was one reason I picked this box.  I love all of the Number 4 hair product but they are out of my budget.  So I love when I can get them in my Birchbox.  This protects against heat styling damage and detangles.  I think it works great.

IMG_3811

Harvey Prince Hello

Harvey Prince Hello: $55.00 full size/$3.30 sample value

Yet another reason I picked this box.  I love the Harvery Prince Hello and have gotten it before, but don’t like to spend the money on perfume since I get so many samples.  Since I could get one I knew I would like, I was happy to get this.  Hello is a mixture of floral and citrus scents.

IMG_3812

Benefit They’re Real Liner

Benefit They’re Real! Push Up Liner: $24.00 full size/$1.80 sample value

I am not a liquid liner person, but I love all things Benefit so I was so excited to try this.  It’s a small sample, just enough to try it once.  Unfortunately, mine was clumpy.  I wasted most of it trying to get it out smoothly.  What I did see of it, the applicator tip worked well and I can see where I’d get a much cleaner line with this than other liquid liners.  But, I am glad I got to try it as part of my Birchbox instead of investing $24.00 into it and deciding I dont’ like the formula.

The box was $9 (I do the prepaid annual), I received $5 in Birchbox points for reviewing my products so in the end the box cost me $4.  Even without the points, the sample value was $15.41 – still much greater than the initial cost of the box.  This wasn’t my most valuable Birchbox but I got to try lots of new to me products and some that I’ve gotten before and love and I’ve discovered a few new products that I will be keeping on my wish list.

To learn more about Birchbox or to sign up, click here.

~Elizabeth

This post contains referral links.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to August 2014 Birchbox Review Everygirl Box

  1. Pingback: Thursday Thoughts | Practically unperfect in every way

  2. Pingback: Friday Fave Five | Practically unperfect in every way

Leave a Reply

