September 2014 Birchbox Review

Birchbox ships 4-6 beauty and lifestyle items to your door each month for only $10 a month. Plus, Birchbox lets you review your items (a short multiple choice questionnaire) for 10 points per item. Each 10 points is equal to $1 in the Birchbox shop. So, this month I paid $10 for my box and received an amazing 7 items so I earned back $7 in products. I love the Birchbox shop because they sell a mixture of high end and lower end items. Plus, they have add-ons like the Mystery Sample Packs (check out my reviews here and here) and some great gifts with purchase.

This month Birchbox is celebrating their anniversary and all boxes were supposed to be celebratory special boxes designed just for this month.  Isn’t it cute?

Anniversary Birchbox

The First Look:

So imagine my disappointment when I opened my outer box to see this:

The boring brown September Birchbox

The boring brown September Birchbox

The regular old brown Birchbox.

September Birchbox Information Card

September Birchbox Information Card

Apparently my box didn’t get the “Fresh Paint” memo and it arrived unpainted 🙂

First Look At The Products - September 2014 Birchbox

First Look At The Products – September 2014 Birchbox

Luckily, I opened it to see that it was a nice, full Birchbox and there was a really big sample in there!

The Products:

Laura Mercier Full Blown Volume Supreme Mascara

Laura Mercier Full Blown Volume Supreme Mascara

Laura Mercier Full Blown Volume Supreme Masacara: $25.00 full size/$14.63 sample value

I never seem to get mascara from Birchbox  so I was psyched to get this.  It doesn’t clump or smudge and provides good cover over my pale lashes without being too dark for my skin.

Davines Ol/Shampoo

Davines Ol/Shampoo

Davines Ol/Shampoo: $26.00 full size/$1.11 sample value

I don’t mind getting foil samples, and since these were “extra” with the conditioner sample, I really didn’t mind.  It’s supposed to add shine without weighing down hair.  So far I like it and may have to use points for a full size.

Davines Ol/Conditioner

Davines Ol/Conditioner

Davines Ol/Conditioner: $32.00 full size/$9.60 sample value

Now this is my size sample!  I’ll get plenty of uses out of this conditioner.  It smells great and doesn’t weigh my hair down, but it does control the frizz.  Plus, this protects against head damage and UV so I don’t have to use a thermal spray with a conditioner.

Davines Ol/Oil Absolute Beautifying Potion: $41.00 full size/$4.10 sample value

This was the other foil pack that came with choosing the conditioner as my sample for the month.  This is a lightweight oil that didn’t leave my hair feeling greasy or heavy.  I like it, but I don’t love it enough to spend $41.00 on the full size.

 

Shiseido Ultimune Power Infusing Concentrate

Shiseido Ultimune Power Infusing Concentrate

Shiseido Ultimune Power Infusing Concentrate: $65.00 full size/$21.67 sample value

This is where I hit the Birchbox jackpot this month.  This was another of the four samples  you could choose from.  This works to strengthen skin against the elements and also protect it from signs of stress.  A little goes a long way and this sample is 1/3 the size of the full size bottle.

TEMPTU S/B Highlighter

TEMPTU S/B Highlighter

TEMPTU S/B Highlighter: $27.50 full size/$2.75 sample value

While I didn’t find anything special about this highlighter that would make me use it over some cheaper brands, I liked that it’s not glittery at all.

Yu-Be Moisturizing Cream

Yu-Be Moisturizing Cream

Yu-Be Moisturizing Cream: $16.00 full size/$1.28 sample value

This is a new to me brand from Japan that’s supposed to work on chapped lips, dry skin and cracked skin on your feet.  I tried it on my hands and it smelled STRONG!  I’m thinking I’ll try this on my feet at night.

The box was $10, I received $7 in Birchbox points for reviewing my products (two products wouldn’t let me complete the form for sampling them), so in the end the box cost me $2.  Even without the points, the sample value was $54.87 the highest value yet – and still much greater than the initial cost of the box.  Even though I didn’t get a pretty anniversary box, I am more than happy with the contents of my plain brown box.

To learn more about Birchbox or to sign up, click here.

~Elizabeth

This post contains referral links.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to September 2014 Birchbox Review

  1. Vicky says:

    WOW! You hit the box jackpot! Wonder why you didn’t get a patterned box though

  2. Pingback: Friday Fave Five | Practically unperfect in every way

  3. Pingback: Thursday Thoughts | Practically unperfect in every way

  4. Pingback: Friday Fave Five | Practically unperfect in every way

Leave a Reply

