November 2014 Birchbox Review

Birchbox ships 4-6 beauty and lifestyle items to your door each month for only $10 a month. Plus, Birchbox lets you review your items (a short multiple choice questionnaire) for 10 points per item. Each 10 points is equal to $1 in the Birchbox shop. So, this month I paid $10 for my box and received 6 items so I earned back $6 in products. I love the Birchbox shop because they sell a mixture of high end and lower end items. Plus, they have add-ons like the Mystery Sample Packs (check out my reviews here and here) and some great gifts with purchase.

My November box arrived the same day my husband’s replacement box arrived, so we had quite the Birchbox  day at our house 🙂

 

Birchbox + Red Outer Box

Birchbox + Red Outer Box

My November Birchbox arrived in a larger brown box that contained the Birchbox  and my sample choice for the month.  This month was a collaboration between Birchbox  and Red so the outer box was red.

November Birchbox Information Card

November Birchbox Information Card

The information card had more information about the Birchbox  and Red collaboration.

November Birchbox Information Card

November Birchbox Information Card

My box had EIGHT products but only six were shown on the information card.

The Products:

amika Nourishing Mask

amika Nourishing Mask

amika Nourishing mask: $12.00 full size/$4.00 sample value

I think I received this in a Birchbox last year and loved it, so I chose it for the sample choice this month.  My hair is always in need of a little TLC and this stuff works great without overconditioning my hair.

Laura Mercier Tinted Foundation Samples

Laura Mercier Tinted Foundation Samples

Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer Samples: $43.00 full size/$2.53 sample value?

I’m estimating on the sample value on this one.  I was so excited to see that I would be getting Laura Mercier in my Birchbox.  I received a full size of this free from PopSugar and was hoping to get a mini one to carry in my bag.  But, this is really just a card with three tiny samples like what you would get for free in your bag at a cosmetic counter.  And since it has three shades on it (light/medium and dark), only one will be useful.  I really dislike getting a product that’s not even a full use – it makes it very difficult to decide if it’s for you.

Laura Mercier Eye Liner in Violet

Laura Mercier Eye Liner in Violet

Laura Mercier Eye Liner in Violet: $24.00 FULL SIZE

I believe this is a full size pencil (it’s on the smaller side).  I really like that they didn’t send black, but it’s a neutral that a lot of people could still wear.  It goes on well and didn’t smudge.

derma e Evenly Radiant Brightening Cleanser

derma e Evenly Radiant Brightening Cleanser

derma e Evenly Radiant Brightening Cleanser: $15.50 full size/$2.58 sample value

I LOVE derma e products but I’ve still never bought any of them.  I like that the sample is large enough to use for at least a week.  It has no sulfates or other drying ingredients.  I’ve been using it in the morning and evening and I’m feeling that I need to use less moisturizer (of course nothing beats Noxzema and a face wash).

amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo

amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo

amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo: $9.00 full size/$6.75 sample value

I am trying not to over style my hair, so I love dry shampoo.  This didn’t leave a visible residue in my hair (but my hair is a lighter color) and it didn’t weigh it down (which some dry shampoos can do).

Camille Beckman Platinume Gold Imperial Repair Hand Therapy

Camille Beckman Platinume Gold Imperial Repair Hand Therapy

Camille Beckman Platinume Gold Imperial Repair Hand Therapy: $20.00 full size/$.83 sample value

Anyone remember Camille Beckman products from the 90’s?  They were sold in jars with satin roses on top?  I had no idea this company was still around until we got one of their products in a Birchbox Man box a few months ago.  Apparently they’ve rebranded as a higher end product, but I still find their lotion to be greasy.  I will still use the sample I received, but I won’t buy more.

Chuao Chocolatier Firecracker Chocolate Pod

Chuao Chocolatier Firecracker Chocolate Pod

Chuao Chocolatier Firecracker Chocolate Pod: $9.95 full size/$1.24 sample value

I received one of these last year in my box and was excited to get one again.  The firecracker is one of my favorites – it has chipotle and Pop Rocks inside it.  The sample packs are a lot of fun, I usually stock up so we have some on hand for last minute gifts.

the Balm Cindy Lou Manizer

the Balm Cindy Lou Manizer

The Balm Cindy Lou Manizer

The Balm Cindy Lou Manizer

The Balm Cindy-Lou Manizer: $24.00 full size/$1.60 sample value

This highlighter is a peachy tone (it looks more brown in my photo).  I used it under my eyes and on my cheeks today and I really like that it doesn’t have a lot of shimmer.  Some highlighters look too shiny, this one added a touch of color without being too much.  And I love the packaging of the Balm’s samples and their full size products.  They are so fun!

My November Birchbox had a great value of $43.54 (it had a higher value than my husband’s Birchbox Man box which is rare).  It contained 8 products and 7 of them were shown in my box history on the Birchbox website so I was able to review those for 70 points/$7.  I paid about $9 for this box and will use all the products so this month was a major win for me.

To learn more about Birchbox or to sign up, click here.

~Elizabeth

This post contains referral links.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to November 2014 Birchbox Review

  1. Pingback: Thursday Thoughts | Practically unperfect in every way

Leave a Reply

