December 2014 Birchbox Review

Birchbox ships 4-6 beauty and lifestyle items to your door each month for only $10 a month. Plus, Birchbox lets you review your items (a short multiple choice questionnaire) for 10 points per item. Each 10 points is equal to $1 in the Birchbox shop. So, this month I paid $10 for my box and received 6 items so I earned back $6 in products. I love the Birchbox shop because they sell a mixture of high end and lower end items. Plus, they have add-ons like the Mystery Sample Packs (check out my reviews here and here) and some great gifts with purchase.

First Look:

Birchbox December 2014 - Shipping Box

Birchbox December 2014 – Shipping Box

This month I added on to my box with Birchbox Plus.  Each month they offer 3-4 products to choose from and you can add it to your box at a discount.  This month there were 3 necklaces and a lip gloss to choose from.  I chose the Capwell + Co. Mint Moonstone + Rhinestone necklace.

Birchbox December 2014 - Capwell and Company

Birchbox December 2014 – Capwell and Company

The necklace was $25 instead of the regular $45.  I liked that it came in a nice box in case you were planning to give this as a gift.

Birchbox December 2014 - Capwell and Company Moonstone Necklace

Birchbox December 2014 – Capwell and Company Moonstone Necklace’

This necklace was described as one that you could wear to work.  I think it’s a little too dressy for work, but I’ll try it out.  I mostly bought it because I don’t have any green jewelry.  Now onto the box…

Birchbox December 2014 - Outside Box

Birchbox December 2014 – Outside Box

The outside box of my Birchbox was different than the normal pink box it’s shipped in.

Birchbox December 2014 - Inner Box

Birchbox December 2014 – Inner Box

And I was really happy to see the inner box was a different design too.  I love when they do specially designed boxes.

Birchbox December 2014 - First Look

Birchbox December 2014 – First Look

I had peeked at my Birchbox online so I knew what I was getting.  The first look wasn’t anything too surprising, but I did think the samples looked awfully small.

Birchbox December 2014 - Second Look

Birchbox December 2014 – Second Look

Birchbox December 2014 - Information Card

Birchbox December 2014 – Information Card

The information card details the items included and their prices.  There was also a code to get a $10 Gap coupon.

The Products:

Birchbox December 2014 - Embryolisse

Birchbox December 2014 – Embryolisse

Embryolisse Lait Creme Concentrate: $28.00 full size/$1.87 sample value

This was one of the featured items this month.  I didn’t choose a sample for my box, I let them choose for me.  This lotion also doubles as a makeup remover.  The sample is pretty small so I don’t think I’ll be trying it as a makeup remover, but it will be good to keep in my work bag.

Birchbox December 2014 - No. 4 Conditioner

Birchbox December 2014 – No. 4 Conditioner

No. 4 L’eau de Mare Hydrating Conditioner: $36.00 full size/$1.06 sample value

I have used this before and love it.  This is perfect for winter and conditions my  hair without weighing it down.

Birchbox December 2014 - Rusk Texture

Birchbox December 2014 – Rusk Texture

Rusk Texture Spray: $18.00 full size/$3.37 sample value

The 1.5 oz version of this sells on its own for $7.00, but the price per ounce from the full size bottle is WAY cheaper so I’m using that.  I got this in the Allure 2014 Winter Beauty Box and was disappointed it was the sample size, so I’m really happy to get another.

Birchbox December 2014 - Manna Kadar Lip Locked

Birchbox December 2014 – Manna Kadar Lip Locked

Manna Kadar Lip Locked in Lucky: $24.00 full size/$0.20 sample value

This is the tiniest lip gloss sample I’ve ever received!  I do like this gloss which is similar to the Cynthia Rowley – it’s a cross between a gloss and a stain.  I did find that this came off faster than the Cynthia Rowley but I liked the color and thought it was very moisturizing.

Birchbox December 2014 - Lord and Berry Eyeliner

Birchbox December 2014 – Lord and Berry Eyeliner

Lord and Berry Paillettes Eyeliner: $18.00 full size/$4.50 sample value

This Kajal eyeliner has glitter in it.  It went on smoothly, but I’m not really a glitter person, so this will probably be put in Ella’s makeup bag for her dance recitals.

Birchbox December 2014 - No. 4 Shampoo

Birchbox December 2014 – No. 4 Shampoo

No. 4 L’eau de Mare Hydrating Shampoo: $34.00 full size/$4.00 sample value

I’ve received No. 4 hair products before and always love them.  I think my husband got this in a previous Birchbox Man box and I used it for myself.

Birchbox December 2014 - Final Look

Birchbox December 2014 – Final Look

Final Thoughts:

While I liked every product included, this was not my favorite box.  I paid about $9 for the box and received $15 worth of products (not including the $10 gift code to Gap).  I will also earn $6 in points to use in the Birchbox shop, bringing my cost down to about $3.  I didn’t dislike this box, but I think that it suffered from not getting any full size items.

To learn more about Birchbox or to sign up, click here.

~Elizabeth

This post contains referral links.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to December 2014 Birchbox Review

  1. I use the Rusk Hairspray (reviewed it on the blog) and I do love it. It’s very light and never feels heavy or sticky! I haven’t done Birchbox yet. I don’t wear a lot of makeup and so I wonder if it is worth it. I might take the plunge, though…

  2. Pingback: Thursday Thoughts | Practically unperfect in every way

Leave a Reply

