Beachbody’s 21 Day Fix vs. Weight Watchers

Weight Watchers vs. 21 Day Fix

Weight Watchers vs. 21 Day Fix

My posts from the last year on the 21 Day Fix have been some of my most popular, and  I honestly rotate between Weight Watchers and the 21 Day Fix when I am trying to lose weight or get my eating back on track.  I am not a Beachbody Coach or a Weight Watchers Leader, I’m just a mom who has to work to keep myself at a healthy weight.

So, I decided to compare both for anyone who is looking for a healthy way to lose weight (I’m not a dietitian or nutritionist, but I do believe these are both healthy and safe for many people – but you should always contact your doctor before starting any diet/workout plan).

I go back and forth between these programs and plan to start the 21 Day Fix again (right before Thanksgiving!), so I will be blogging my meals for anyone who wants to follow along.

Weight Watchers

Weight Watchers

Weight Watchers: Pros

  1. Flexible eating (nothing is off limits) using the Points Plus plan.  You want ice cream or cake or wine you can have it.  But, you only have a set number of points for the day so you do need to budget them accordingly so that you don’t run out.
  2. More points can be earned by exercising more – this is great if you realize you didn’t leave enough points for that last minute dinner out with friends.  You can go to an extra class at the gym and earn a few extra points to add to the dinner.
  3. Weekly points to spend as you’d like – besides your daily points allowance, there’s an additional 49 points to use throughout the week.  Use 7 a day or save them for a special meal.
  4. The app and website are easy to use and almost every food is in their database
  5. Fruits and vegetables are free allowing you to eat as many as you want.
Weight Watchers

Weight Watchers

Weight Watchers: Cons

  1. It’s easy to make bad choices and use your Points on carb/sugar heavy foods.
  2. It’s simple to misjudge your portions (I often overestimate my protein portions and underestimate everything else)
  3. The basic online program starts at $31.96/month (or $63.88 for three months)
Beachbody's 21 Day Fix

Beachbody’s 21 Day Fix

 Beachbody’s 21 Day Fix: Pros

  1. Portion control is easy with the color coded containers.  I was surprised by how much you can cram into those little containers.
  2. Diet and exercise are key to the success of this program.  The workouts have modifiers so you don’t have to be an athlete to complete this.  And, they are only 30 minutes.
  3. The program is a one time investment of about $75.  You can complete the program as many times as you want.
  4. The app is very easy to use and helps keep track when on the go.
Beachbody's 21 Day Fix

Beachbody’s 21 Day Fix

Beachbody’s 21 Day Fix: Cons

  1. It’s more of an all or nothing diet.  There is room for treats or wine, but you have to give up carbs in order to have those.
  2. There’s no reward for exercising more than with the supplied videos.

Final Thoughts: 

To me, both programs are amazing and I’ve had success with both.  I find that I like the pre-planning I have to do with the 21 Day Fix.  With Weight Watchers I tend to see how my day goes and then I get to dinner and have 2 points left.  So, I end up overeating.

But, 21 Day Fix leaves little room for celebrations and special meals.  After I have a “cheat” meal I find it hard to get back on track where with Weight Watchers I can build that into my day.

I have lost weight with both programs.  I like 21 Day Fix for when I need to get my workouts and eating back on track.  Weight Watchers is good for when I’m already eating healthy but need to cut back on the amount I am eating or if I am going to the gym a lot.

Have you tried either program?  What do you think of them?

~Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beachbody’s 21 Day Fix vs. Weight Watchers

  1. I HAVE thought about 21 Day Fix and I loved Weight Watchers, and was very successful at it off and on. I decided to stop dieting,though, and I am doing mindful eating. It is slow. SO very slow. But it works.

  2. Pingback: Thursday Thoughts | Practically unperfect in every way

Leave a Reply

